University of Texas Longhorns Football History and Trivia

Darrell K Royal–Texas Memorial Stadium

The University of Texas Longhorns compete in the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision as a member of the Big 12 Conference.

With over 900 wins and an all-time win–loss percentage of .703, the Longhorns rank 4th and 7th on the all-time wins and win–loss records lists, respectively. Additionally, the iconic program claims 4 national championships (1963, 1969, 1970 and 2005), 33 conference championships, 100 First Team All-Americans (62 consensus and 25 unanimous), and 2 Heisman Trophy winners: Earl Campbell (1977) and Ricky Williams (1998).

When did the Texas Longhorns football program begin?

The roots of Texas football trace back to the late 19th century when the university fielded its first team in 1893. The team played its initial games on a makeshift field near the original Forty Acres campus. As football gained popularity, the Longhorns quickly established themselves as a competitive force.

One of the defining moments in the early years was the construction of Texas Memorial Stadium in 1924. The University honored legendary football coach, Darrell K. Royal, by officially naming the stadium after him in 1996.
The official stadium seating capacity is 100,119, making the stadium the largest in the Big 12 Conference, the seventh largest stadium in the United States, and the ninth largest stadium in the world.

Darrell K Royal and the Wishbone Offense

The 1950s and 1960s marked a transformative period for the Longhorns under the guidance of head coach Darrell K Royal. Royal introduced the innovative wishbone offense, a triple-option scheme that propelled Texas to unparalleled success.
In 1963, Texas claimed its first recognized national championship under Royal. The Longhorns continued to dominate college football throughout the 1960s, and Royal's impact extended beyond the gridiron. His emphasis on integrity and character left an enduring legacy.

Legendary Longhorns

The University of Texas has produced a plethora of legendary players who left an indelible mark on the program:
Earl Campbell, known as the "Tyler Rose," won the Heisman Trophy in 1977 and remains an iconic figure in Longhorns history. His powerful running style and impressive achievements solidified his status as one of the greatest college football players.
Earl Campbell, Texas Longhorn

Ricky Williams, a two-time unanimous All-American, won the Heisman Trophy in 1998 and broke the NCAA Division I-A records for career rushing yards and all-purpose yards during his senior season!

Vince Young, the dynamic quarterback, etched his name in Texas football lore with a transcendent performance in the 2006 Rose Bowl. Young, who ran for the game-winning touchdown against USC with 19 seconds left, led the Longhorns to a national championship, showcasing his athleticism, leadership, and poise on the grandest stage. The game is often regarded as one of the greatest in college football history.

Trivia and Unique Traditions

In recent years, the Longhorns have experienced ups and downs, transitioning through coaching changes and evolving conference affiliations. Notable coaches like Mack Brown, Tom Herman and Steve Sarkisian have led the team, maintaining high standards and competitiveness.

The Longhorns' move to the Southeastern Conference (SEC) in 2025 is poised to bring new challenges and opportunities. As they embark on this new chapter, the spirit of Texas football endures, fueled by a passionate fan base and a commitment to excellence.