The Ohio State Buckeyes Football History and Trivia

Ohio Stadium

The Ohio State University fielded its first football team in 1890, and the program officially began in 1892. The team was nicknamed the "Buckeyes" in reference to the state tree of Ohio.

The Ohio State has won multiple national championships, including titles in 1942, 1954, 1957, 1961, 1968, 1970, 2002, and 2014.

The program has been led by legendary coaches, including Woody Hayes (1951–1978), who won five national championships, and Urban Meyer (2012–2018), who secured the national title in 2014.

Ohio State has intense rivalries, most notably with the University of Michigan in the annual matchup known as "The Game". The Ohio State-Michigan game is one of the most anticipated and storied rivalries in college football.

Ohio State has produced multiple Heisman Trophy winners, including Archie Griffin, the only player to win the Heisman Trophy twice (in 1974 and 1975).

Archie Griffin with Heisman Trophy

Ohio Stadium, also known as "The Horseshoe", is one of the most iconic and largest stadiums in college football. It has been the home of the Buckeyes since 1922.

Ohio State is known for its distinctive scarlet and gray team colors. The team wears seven different uniform combinations, each representing a decade in the program's history.

The student section, known as the "Block O", is famous for creating a visually striking and spirited atmosphere during home games.

The iconic Authentic Ohio State Speed Helmet