Clemson Tigers Football History and Trivia

Clemson Tigers Memorial Stadium

Clemson's football program dates back to 1896, making it one of the older programs in college football. The team's early years were characterized by various nicknames, including the Tigers and the Hornets, before officially adopting the Tigers as the mascot in 1954.

Clemson plays its home games at Memorial Stadium, also known as "Death Valley". The stadium is renowned for its intimidating atmosphere and is one of the loudest venues in college football.

Clemson 1902 Football Team

Clemson has won multiple national championships, with titles in 1981, 2016, and 2018. The 1981 championship team, coached by Danny Ford, finished the season undefeated and featured a dominant defense.

The Clemson Tigers have produced one Heisman Trophy winner: Deshaun Watson (Finalist in 2015, 2016): Watson, a star quarterback, led Clemson to consecutive national championship game appearances.

Iconic Clemson head coaches include Frank Howard (1940-1969): Howard had a long and successful coaching career at Clemson, and the team's stadium is named in his honor, and Dabo Swinney (2008-present): Swinney, as head coach, has led Clemson to multiple national championships and sustained success.

Under Coach Swinney's leadership, Clemson has become a perennial contender for the national championship. The team's playoff appearances and victories over traditional powerhouses have solidified its status among the elite programs.

Clemson's recent success includes multiple College Football Playoff (CFP) appearances and victories. The team's back-to-back championship game appearances against Alabama in 2015 and 2016 showcased its competitiveness.

Clemson's main rival is the South Carolina Gamecocks. The annual Clemson-South Carolina game is known as the "Palmetto Bowl".

Howard's Rock, a large rock at the entrance of Memorial Stadium, is touched by players as they run down the hill before home games.